A 60th Anniversary Celebration


2020 is a special year, it is 60 years since Prof. Per-Olov Löwdin was promoted to professor in quantum chemistry at Uppsala University, Sweden. Actually, he was one of the very first professors on this subject worldwide. On the 13th of May 1960 the Swedish government, by Royal decree, gave him the position starting from the 1st of July 1960. Later, the same year in the fall – 29th October 1960, he was officially installed in his office during a public meeting officiated by the deputy chancellor Torgny T. Segerstedt.

This year we will celebrate this by a special series of Löwdin lectures were all previous Löwdin lecturers are invited and will give lectures focusing on the subject of interest – quantum chemistry. You are all cordially invited to participate and listen to research in, year-and-years of experience on, and reflections on the subject of computational chemistry. Participation is free of charge, you only have to register. Very welcome!


The Löwdin Lectures


The Committee for Quantum Chemical Löwdin Lectures was established in 1982 to administrate a fund generated by international contributions to honor Per-Olof Löwdin (1916-2000) in association with his retirement at Uppsala University in 1981.

The fund was transferred to Uppsala University at the 4th International Quantum Chemistry Congress, Uppsala, 1982. The purpose of the Löwdin lectures is to stimulate the interest in quantum chemistry by inviting prominent scientists to Uppsala to present their research and to give a general lecture on chemistry.



Prof. Thomas Miller, Löwdin Lecture 2020

Thomas Miller’s research focuses on the development of theoretical and computational methods to study chemical processes that are related to catalysis, battery technologies, and membrane protein biosynthesis.  After completing his undergraduate studies at Texas A&M University, he attended graduate school in the UK on a British Marshall Scholarship and received his Ph.D. from Oxford University in 2005.  Miller then returned to the US for a postdoctoral fellowship at UC Berkeley. He joined the faculty of the California Institute of Technology in 2008 and was promoted to full professor in 2013.  While at Caltech, he has received awards that include the Sloan Research Fellowship, NSF CAREER Award, Associated Students of Caltech Teaching Award, Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, and the ACS Early-Career Award in Theoretical Chemistry.

Picture of Prof. Thomas Miller
Picture of Prof. Nancy Makri

Prof. Nancy Makri, Löwdin Lecture 2019

Nancy Makri received a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Athens in 1985 and a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley in 1989. After spending two years as a Junior Fellow at Harvard, she joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where she is currently the Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor and holds faculty appointments in Chemistry and Physics. Makri’s research focuses on the development of theoretical methods for simulating the quantum dynamics of condensed phase processes. She has pioneered rigorous real-time path integral methods which have helped quantify the interplay among tunneling, quantum interference and thermal fluctuations in chemical kinetics. Makri is the recipient of National Science Foundation and Beckman Young Investigator Awards, the Sloan Research Fellowship, Cottrell and Dreyfus Scholar Awards and the Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a recipient of the Bodossaki Academic Prize in Physical Sciences. Makri is also a Medalist and a member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science.


Academic Conferences
Tel: + 46 18-67 20 59

Important dates

Conference dates: December 3–4, 2020